What We’re Eating . . . 2.09.16

Happy Friday! Well, it’s finally happened here. Summer is over and fall has settled in. I could bemoan the ridiculousness of it all, how I crave the sunshine and instead have this chill in my bones. I don’t even have my summer tan yet, and already I must wrap up with wool socks and leggings. And yes, I need to bust out the rain gear, which I apparently forgot yesterday on our walk! We started walking, enjoying the clouds and fog, until it started misting and promptly pouring rain. 3 1/2 miles later, I was soaked! Mabel was dry and seemed to enjoy herself though. 🙂

IMG_3023IMG_3025

But I digress . . . I’m here to talk about what we are eating these days! I told you how I meal plan a few posts back, so I thought I would include a sample of this week’s plan.

Thursday: Stuffed Bell Peppers {stuffed with quinoa, black beans, corn, a bit of cheese, and spices} ***I had leftover quinoa & black bean/corn mixture in my fridge from previous meals, so I combined them and viola! stuffed peppers. They are kind of my go-to when I have things I need to get rid of in the fridge. 🙂 ***

Friday: African Peanut Stew {Oh She Glows cookbook} ***I checked the weather, and it’s supposed to rain all day. Therefore, soup.***

Saturday: Slow Cooker Chicken Adobo w/ rice & salad {21 Day Sugar Detox Cookbook. I’ve done the detox a few times before and liked it, but I have really enjoyed the cookbooks, because they don’t make you feel like you are missing out on anything.}

Sunday: Grilled Italian Sausage & Salad w/ Pineapple vinegar ***We have a church potluck & BBQ that evening, and sausages are easy &yummy.***

Monday: Cabbage Dumplings w/ rice {21 Day Sugar Detox Cookbook}

Tuesday: Orzo Veggie Pasta Salad  ***Church Small Group potluck night! Also, I don’t have a recipe for this. It’s orzo + whatever veggies I have in my fridge that need to be eaten up + a vinaigrette of some kind***

Wednesday: Cilantro Chicken Stir Fry w/ rice or quinoa {21 Day Sugar Detox Cookbook} ***We also get our CSA box on Wednesdays, so usually I start planning meals for the following week then. However, this week we are headed to Salt Spring Island to visit family and I am so so excited! So I will be chopping, preserving, and freezing veggies over the next couple days so nothing goes bad while we are gone.***

Thursday: Leftovers/Stir Fry/Taco/Pizza ***Whatever needs to get eaten in the fridge usually turns into one of the above mentioned items. 🙂 ***

Friday: We leave for Salt Spring Island! Goat milk gelato, here I come. 🙂

As you can see, I don’t plan any other meals but dinner, because breakfast is usually the same (eggs + toast + fruit, yogurt, or oatmeal) and for lunch Matt eats at work (perks of working at a restaurant) and I eat leftovers. If there aren’t any leftovers, I usually go for toast, crackers, smoothie, anything really. I kind of graze. 🙂

So there you have it! I may eventually post recipes for you to go along with my meal plan, but that’s only if I have time. 🙂

I just finished canning 15 pounds of organic tomatoes from our CSA, and am so excited! I will post about that soon.

IMG_3034

And the cuteness continues . . .

IMG_3032IMG_3021

Happy Friday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

